You Can DIY: Coasters

I used wrapping paper for the coaster

Last year, I made my very first DIY coaster using paper napkins but I never did a blog post about it.  A few weeks ago, I made coasters again because my friend was having a house warming party and I knew I wanted to make something, so I thought why not make coasters!  And I figured that I should share this with you guys this time.

I found the tutorial on Curbly but  I tweaked it a bit.  Last year when I made coasters I used the waterproof glue E-6000 to glue the felt at the bottom of the tile, however E-6000 smells very toxic. Seriously, I must have lost some brain cells using it.  So to avoid using E-6000 again, I purchased self adhesive felt from Michael’s and it worked just fine.

Material Needed (read below to see what I changed):

  • Plain ‘4 x ‘4white tile coasters (I purchased mine at Home Depot)
  • Mod podge – (purchased Matte Mat-Mate from Michael’s)
  • small paint brush
  • decorative napkins (I used napkins the first time and the second time I used wrapping paper)
  • Polyurethane (I used Diamond Wood Finish Water Based, Semi Gloss)
  • Squares of thin cork or felt (I purchased self adhesive felt at Michael’s and cut into squares)
  • Water proof glue (Do not use E-6000, it smells very toxic and can make you dizzy – seriously, it even says it on the glue.  If you purchase self adhesive felt, you don’t need glue)

Voila! Tie some ribbon around it and you have a nice house warming gift!

Below are the coasters I made last year.  As I said before, I used E-6000 the first time and I had to let these air dry before they came back into the house. I needed to get rid of that toxic brain cell damaging smell.

I used an animal print napkin for this coaster

Let me know what you think.  The holidays are coming, so I think I’ll make some Christmas Coasters too!
2 thoughts on “You Can DIY: Coasters

Leave a Reply

