A Royal Wedding Treat – Pecan Scones

The wedding was fabulous. The dress, the ceremony, the bridesmaid dress, the handsome groom. Fabulous!  The kiss – eh..it lacked some flavor, but with millions of people watching, maybe they felt a bit nervous.

It would have been nice if she grabbed the back of his head and he dipped her while they kissed.  But that would have been  “too Hollywood” or cheesy I guess.  But then again, I’m all about the cheese. The cheesier the better.  Did you watch the Royal Wedding? What did you think?

So to make my royal wedding viewing complete, I poured myself some tea (in my turquoise Aynsley tea cup) and munched on some pecan scones that I made the night before.

Let me tell you, this is the VERY first time I made scones and the VERY first time I finally used my kitchen aid.   I was a bit nervous because I didn’t want to burn them and then all those ingredients would go to waste.  But I’ll never know how to make scones if I don’t try.  So I gave it a try…..and…..they actually came out great.  Just one tip, don’t make the scones too thick because it will take longer to bake. I made that mistake.  Oh and that cinnamon cream is really good! If you have any left over you can use it with some strawberries! YUMM!

Below is the recipe of Pecan Scones from Food Network Canada:

pecan scones high tea royal wedding

The Pecan Scones I made

Ingredients

Scones

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, cut into pieces and chilled
  • 3/4 cup +1 tbsp milk (*I used almond milk here)
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup pecans, lightly toasted and chopped

Cinnamon Cream

  • 1/2 cup whipping cream
  • 2 tablespoons sour cream
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions

Scones

  1. Preheat oven to 375º F.
  2. Place all dry ingredients in a mixing bowl, or in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Cut butter into dry ingredients until it resembles coarse meal.
  3. Stir together 3/4 cup milk, honey and vanilla and add to dough. Mix just until dough comes together and add pecans.
  4. Turn dough onto a lightly floured surface. Roll dough twice to a 1-inch thickness, each time folding in half (this is the secret to a flaky scone).
  5. Now roll dough to 3/4 -inch thickness and cut desired shapes. Place on a greased or parchment-lined baking sheet and brush with remaining milk. Bake for 15 to 18 minutes, until tops are nicely browned.

Cinnamon Cream

  1. Whip cream to soft peaks and whisk in sour cream, sugar and cinnamon.

To Assemble

  1. Serve warm or at room temperature with cinnamon cream.
2 thoughts on “A Royal Wedding Treat – Pecan Scones

  1. Pingback: $5 for $10 Worth of Scones, Soups, and Salads at Shar Merritt’s Scones and Things - Koream Deals

Leave a Reply

