Spring Cleaning and Declutter Time!

spring_cleaning_declutter

Image via Flickr: Mistress B

It’s that time of year.

Birds are chiriping.

The sun is starting to stay out longer.

And it’s time to de-clutter and clean, clean, clean!

Here are some tips you can use to help you declutter:

1. Don’t do everything all at once

Remember it’s not a race. You don’t have to do everything in one day.  Try to do a little a day. If you have a dresser, just tackle the items in your dresser then move on to the closet another day.  If you try to do everything all in one day, you will get overwhelmed and not get anything done.

2. If you haven’t used it in 3 months, get rid of it.

Whenever I would try to declutter, I would end up telling myself – “Oh I might need this one day”.  I remember keeping this green purse I bought years ago.  Every year I would look at it and say, oh I’ll use it next year.  Finally I got rid of the sucker and don’t miss it at all.  Trust me, if you haven’t used it in 3 months, get rid of it.

3.  Get rid of the “multiples”.

Who really needs 5 hammers? or 3 different potato mashers?  pick the best one of the bunch and get rid of the rest.

4. Have a garage sale

Everyone’s trash is another persons treasure right? Why not get rid of the excess and make some extra money while you’re at it.

If you have any other suggestions, I please leave a comment. Would love to hear some more suggestions.

Leave a Reply

