I’m not a Material Girl…I’m an Experience Girl

I think ever since I was young, I was never really a material girl or attached to “stuff”.  Maybe it’s because when I used to ask my parents to buy a toy for me, they would always say “We’ll get it in New York”.  We used to visit New York every year to see my family, but when the time came to visit them, I forgot about the toy I wanted.  So I guess in a way, my parents somewhat lied to me but I’m glad they did.  I’m happy that they never really did spoil me.  Instead, they put their money towards family vacations, piano lessons, soccer, my university education, etc.  Why spend lots of money on a toy that I would probably get sick of and then would want another one.

I started to think about this the other day and how the way I was raised has really help me with my spending habits.  I’m not your typical girl. I didn’t even want an engagement ring because I would have wanted that money to be used towards a nice vacation with R (my husband).   That’s why we had a destination wedding too.  It was a wedding plus a vacation with friends and family.  I love spending my money on experiences such as going to dinners with my friends, hosting a games night, going to karaoke, etc.  I love creating memories with the people I care about.   Now I’m not saying I don’t spend at all on myself or my house.  Not at all. I just don’t spend a ridiculous amount on material things.  For example, I would never buy a $500 pair of jeans because that money could be used towards dinners, karaoke, a staycation, etc.

In my previous post, I’m brainstorming ideas on how to decorate our place, which can sometimes be costly.  So I try to find creative ways to cut down costs by buying used pieces at thrift stores or garage sales.  I love it when I can turn an ottoman I bought at a garage sale for $5.00, spray paint it and make it look brand new (I will write a post about my garage sale finds in a later post).  It’s hard not to be obsessed with material things when we are constantly bombarded with ads that scream buy me, you need this to make you happy.  I guess we all just need to remind ourselves that material objects only give you temporary happiness, while the memories with your family and friends lasts a lifetime. It’s cheesy, but it’s oh so true!

There is also an article by the New York Times titled “But Will it make you Happy”.  The article goes on to talk about how “people are happier when they spend money on experiences instead of material objects”.  Thanks littlebrownbride for sending that article to me.

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

