DIY: Towel Wedding Cake

Supplies Needed:

  • 2 wash cloths, 2 hand towels, 2 bath towels
  • Pins
  • Ribbon
  • Flowers
  • Bristol Board
  • Foam Board

A few weeks ago, I attended one of my friends wedding shower. Three of us decided to buy the bride towels off her registry. We bought 2 bath towels, 2 hand towels and 4 wash cloths. I remember when I went to a wedding show, they were giving away these towel wedding cakes so I thought it would be perfect time to test my crafty skills. I wouldn’t consider myself crafty like Martha Stewart, but I figured how hard could it be to roll up towels into a wedding cake right?  I went to youtube and found a video on how to do the towel cake (see video at the end of this post).  It actually wasn’t too hard at all.   If I can do it, trust me you can do it too.  The only problem I had was having the layers stick together, so I decided to roll up a bristol board, into a pole shape, tape it together, and then stick it in the middle of each layer.  See picture below.

I also used lots and lots of pins, and as you can see some white flowers.  I bought the flowers from the dollar store. Gotta love the dollar store!

Since we bought 4 wash cloths, I had 2 extra cloths.  You can only use 2 wash cloths for the top layer, I tried to use all 4 and it wasn’t happening.  I placed the 2 extra wash cloths on the foam board, and tied it down with some ribbon.

I’m going to toot my own horn here and say I did pretty good job.  Doesn’t it look like a yummy red velvet cake? Now I want some cake!

Below is the youtube video I used on how to do a towel wedding cake.  If I can do this, you can too.  So I guess the next cake I will be making will be a diaper cake? Hurry up friends and get pregnant already!

One thought on “DIY: Towel Wedding Cake

  1. Pingback: DIY: Purple Towel Wedding Cake « Living La Vie

Leave a Reply

