Following your Passion and Dreams

Last week I went to a family BBQ and my mom and I were talking with my cousins who just graduated high school.  My mom  asked him what all aunties ask “What are your plans, what do you want to do?”. Ahh, I used to dread that question because there were many times I had no clue what I wanted to do after high school.  But my cousin knew exactly what he wanted to do.  He told us that he didn’t want to attend college and that he wanted to become a cop because that’s what he had always dreamed of.  My uncle (my cousins father) quickly jumped in the conversation and told my mom that he wanted his son to have a back up plan and that he would be taking an 8 month course to be a personal support worker and that he couldn’t attend a police academy right now anyways because he wasn’t the right age.  Not knowing what age my cousin had to be to attend the police academy I asked my uncle “How old does he have to be”.  My uncle replied “19, he turns 19 in December”.  So let me get this straight, he is going to spend money on a course he doesn’t want to take and he doesn’t want to be a personal support worker….uhh…why?  My uncle then said that it was hard to become a cop and then he said his friend believes that my cousin is too soft to be a police officer.  Wow! I quickly told my cousin to never let anyone tell you that you can’t do anything.   After what had happened to my cousins I remembered a story I read (I wish I could remember where I read this story).  It goes like this:

There was a teenager (we’ll call him Mike) who knew he always wanted to be a fire fighter ever since he was a little boy. He had a meeting with the high school guidance counselor and he told him that he was going to be a fire fighter. The guidance counselor quickly told him that he shouldn’t be a fire fighter and he should go to college/university and that he would waste his time becoming a fire fighter. Mike didn’t listen to his counselor and became a fire fighter. A few years past and there was a car crash. He pulled the man out of the vehicle, performed CPR and also pulled this man’s wife out of the car as well. The man that he pulled out happened to be the same guidance counselor that told him not be a fire fighter.   Mike saved the guidance counselor’s life. I wonder what the guidance counselor thinks of Mike’s chosen career path now?

Never let anyone tell you what you can and cannot do.  Only you know what you are capable of. I wish when I was 18, I knew what I wanted to do. My cousin is one of the lucky few that knows what he is passionate about.   I’m still trying to figure that out at 30.  But I feel like I’m getting closer!

Leave a Reply

