Hello Fearless 30’s!!

Leading up to my 30th birthday I started to think about what it all means.  I remember when I was 21, turning 30 seemed so far away.  I mean, as they say age is just a number. And they’re right, but there’s something about entering another decade.  I remember when I turned 20  I remember how happy I was because I was no longer a teenager, out of highschool and was just ready for a new chapter in my life.  In your twenties you graduate college/university, enter the career world and maybe get married.  But turning 30 felt different this time.  When I turned 30 I started to think:

“where did all the time go?”

“I still haven’t accomplished what I wanted”

“I went to university and I’m still not doing what I love”

“What am I supposed to do now?”

“Am I a failure?”

Ok, fine the last one is a bit dramatic but you know we’ve all had those moments.  After my pity party, I decided it was time to pick myself up cause it’s not attractive being Debbie Downer.  So I decided to re-write my bucket list.  If there is one thing that I love to do – is write lists!   One of the most important items I had on that list was to be fearless in my 30’s.  What does this mean? Well in my 20’s , I always had these grand ideas of what I wanted to do.  But I think the reason I didn’t do certain things was because fear had taken over and my excitement for trying new things became a distant memory.  I remember when I was in elementary school,  I was so fearless it would often get me in trouble.  But I remember that feeling..not the getting in trouble part but feeling as if I could do anything and no one could stop me.   There were times I felt like superwoman and I could take over the world.  But as I got older, that somehow faded.  Why is it that as we get older, we also get less confident and scared too?  I needed a superhero to tell me “Have no fear, your superhero is here”. Sorry, I don’t remember which superhero said that and I don’t even know if it was a superhero..but you get what I mean.   As I read the word FEARLESS on my list, I realized that I didn’t need a superhero or Enrique Iglesias to tell me he will be my hero. I realized I didn’t want to live my life as a passenger but as the driver. I didn’t want to see my life pass me by. Sorry for being a bit cheesy and sounding like an after school special, but my point is that if you’re 30 or almost 30 and you feel like you’re in a rut or feel like you haven’t accomplished what you thought you would – don’t worry or better yet have no fear because as they say, 30 is the new 20 so there is still plenty of time to check those items off your list and add a few more too =).  Just remember to not let fear stop you!

p.s. starting this blog has been checked off my list =)

HELLO FEARLESS 30’s!

3 thoughts on “Hello Fearless 30’s!!

  1. I’m curious to what else is on your bucket list… a great idea for a post too. I haven’t even created one – I really should!

    Congrats on the new blog!!!

    • Thanks!!

      Every year I tend to look at my list and to see if I want to delete or add a few things. Some of items include – volunteer for Habitat for humanity, learn photoshop (which is what I’m doing now), take drumming lessons, meet Janet Jackson..and there’s more too. You should write a list of things you would like to do in this lifetime…it’s fun to write stuff down but even “funner” when you check those items off!

      Melissa

  2. Pingback: Book Review : The Element by Ken Robinson « Living La Vie

Leave a Reply

